Welcome to Tavistock Devon

The south west’s famous market town, it’s rich history and famous son’s and daughters tell a story that spans over a thousand years, King’s and Queen’s have come to visit and many a tale can be told of murder and mystery!

Today Tavistock Devon can boast many attractions and a large mixed locally owned shopping area with a pannier market open almost everyday and regular farmers markets held in the town square that sell various locally grown vegetables, rare breed meats and locally made items.

Tavistock Devon has a long history and is a vibrant and interesting town to live and visit, and has World Heritage status as part of the eastern Gateway to the Cornish Mining World Heritage Site. Tavistock Devon is the birthplace of Sir Francis Drake, vice admiral (c. 1540 – 27 January 1596) was an English sea captain, privateer, navigator, slaver, and politician of the Elizabethan era. Drake carried out the second circumnavigation of the world, from 1577 to 1580 (“Francis Drake” Wikipedia The Free Encyclopedia 2014).

Tavistock lies on the edge of Dartmoor, around 24 kilometers (14.9 mi) north of Plymouth on the A386, with a population of 11,018, circa 2005. The town is centered on the paved amenity of Bedford Square, around which are found St. Eustachius Church and the Abbey ruins, to the west, the Grade 2-listed Town Hall, the disused former Guildhall/magistrates’ court buildings, and Pannier Market buildings behind the Town Hall.

 

Situated in the south west of England, close to Plymouth and Dartmoor National Park means there is easy access to wide open spaces such as Dartmoor and is in easy reach of the sea, both south and north of Devon. The town is an ancient stannary (tin-assaying and tin-marketing) town and derives its name from the Saxon Tau-Vechan- Stoke (the River Tavy being called TauVechan by the Britons. The town has a population of approximately 16,000 people and boasts a wide range of small independant shops, restaurants and cafe’s.

Tavistock Goose Fair

Dating back to the early 12th century starting off as Michelmas Fair held every September, changing to Goose Fair over time. No one is sure where the name ‘Goose’ came from but was probably picked up and used because of Farmers bringing their Geese to market on that date.
The annual event brings in traders from all over the country and many numbers of visitors to the Town on that day.
Tavistock becomes very hectic on that day and the main Plymouth road is closed so that traders can setup their stalls. Stalls used to be setup on each side of Plymouth road, leaving the narrow walkway in the middle for shoppers.It was only about 22 years ago that the stall permits were cut and only one side of the road allocated for stalls, this due to health and safety reasons.

 

Vantage Theme – Powered by WordPress.
Skip to toolbar